All Member Open Forum

 View Only
  • 1.  Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 23 days ago

    This is my first question for the forum.

    Anyone doing electrical termination pms? If so, what frequency and do you have an example pm for reference?

    We do IR scans but still have an occasional loose wire on low voltage or instrumentation that causes an issue.



    ------------------------------
    Dewey Brown
    Lagrange GA
    ------------------------------


  • 2.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 21 days ago

    Actionally i was having an regular electrical problems with the connection of an plc input and the main power distribution of the panel so i began to order the electrical department to reconnect the terminals of the panel every month using the stopping of the line due to the mechanical maintenance pm

    Then the problem disappeared but if any one have a scientific reference to help it will be great



    ------------------------------
    Ahmed Adel Sadek
    Yahoo
    Monufia
    ------------------------------



  • 3.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 21 days ago

    Our facility is still fairly new (almost 3 years), but we had our fair share of electrical gremlins. Now I have the plant broken down into sections, and each section gets all electrical terminals retorqued annually. We have only performed this once thus far, but our loose connections problems have gone away, and thermal imaging of connections looks good as well.



    ------------------------------
    Brant Schmit
    Maintenance Manager
    Metro Waste Authority
    Boone IA
    ------------------------------



  • 4.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 20 days ago

    In fact, there is no need for separate PM orders (Work Orders) for Electrical/Termination checks, usually what I do is, add " Termination checks- Corrosion, Loose connection, or any defects as a task in PM Job plan. 



    ------------------------------
    NEJIMUDEEN ASHRAF MUSLIAR
    OIL & GAS MAINTENANCE PROFESSIONAL
    Occidental Chemical Corp
    JUFFAIR,MANAMA
    ------------------------------



  • 5.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 20 days ago

    Thank you for the replies.  We had annual termination pms at one time but, dropped them as other planners didn't see the value. 



    ------------------------------
    Dewey Brown
    Lagrange GA
    ------------------------------



  • 6.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 20 days ago

    I have an electrical tech PM our critical control cabinets annually during our end of year shutdown.  PM includes cleaning the cabinet (using vacuum to remove any accumulated dust), inspecting and checking connections; tighten if any are found loose.  Only properly trained techs should perform this PM or it could cause more harm than good with overtightening, broken wires,  or other control issues if not using proper cleaning process. 



    ------------------------------
    Amanda Moore
    Maintenance Leader
    Owens Corning
    Medina OH
    ------------------------------



  • 7.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 20 days ago

    Our pm was annual as well. I plan to only use our experienced technicians as well. Definitely going to add vacuuming out the cabinets to this pm. Good idea. Thanks



    ------------------------------
    Dewey Brown
    Lagrange GA
    ------------------------------



  • 8.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 19 days ago

    Annual PM here as well in addition to vacuum cleaning. We have been able to commission newer equipment with spring tension terminals, 5+ years in and there has been zero issues with this type. 



    ------------------------------
    Jonathon Krimm
    United States Steel Corporation
    North Huntingdon PA
    ------------------------------



  • 9.  RE: Electrical Termination PM-Opinions

    Posted 17 days ago

    Thanks Jonathon. 5 years is impressive. I'm going to look into those. 



    ------------------------------
    Dewey Brown
    Lagrange GA
    ------------------------------